Preview showing of the film series Cinema a Palazzo Reale: Giovanni Pastrone’s The Fire, with sonorization by I Giardini di Mirò.

Turin – 17 July 2018, 10.00 pm – Royal Palace Courtyard

Tuesday, 17 July, 10 pm. Courtyard of the Royal Palace. Film series entitled Cinema a Palazzo Reale. Preview showing of Giovanni Pastrone’s The Fire (1915) in the restored version curated by the National Museum of Cinema. Gabriele D’Annunzio collaborated on the original screenplay; the Emilia-based group I Giardini di Mirò composed the score which they will perform live. The musical accompaniment heightens the magic of the film’s intense scenes. The film showing is part of the Soundframes exhibition, which runs through 7 January 2019 at the Museum. The evening will be opened by Claudia Gianetto, head of the film archives of the National Museum of Cinema.

Film details. Following a preview showing in Spain on 7 April 1916, the film was released for distribution in Italy on 29 April. Despite problems with censors and the prefect of Arezzo before its release, the film became a success and made Pina Menichelli a star. Film copies are kept at the Cinémathèque Royale, Brussels, the National Film Archives, Rome, the Museum of Modern Art, New York, the Nederlands Filmmuseum, Amsterdam, and the National Museum of Cinema, Turin, where the original film intertiles, permission for distribution, and production notes are also kept. The Museum curated the film’s restoration and collaborated with the Giardini di Mirò on composing a rock score for the film.


I Giardini di Mirò. Officially, the group started up in the mid-1990s in collaboration with Corrado Nuccini and Giuseppe Camuncoli, today an internationally recognized comic book artist. Their first album, Rise and Fall of Academic Drifting, was released in 2001. Their nearly endless discography includes four official albums (Rise and Fall of Academic Drifting, Punk... Not Diet!, Dividing Opinions, and Good Luck), EPs, remixes and compilations of unedited pieces, in addition to two pieces for sonorization: the one written for Pastrone’s The Fire, and the other for Nino Oxilia’s Satanic Rhapsody. Influenced by post-rock style, the group’s sound has evolved into song forms filtered through its psychedelic kaleidoscope. Band members are Jukka Reverberi, Corrado Nuccini, Luca Di Mira, Mirko Venturelli, Lorenzo Cattalani, and Emanuele Reverberi.

Admission for preview showing €10.